The end-of-school lazies.

My kids are not the only ones who are starting to check out mentally at the end of the school year. I am too.

It’s nice out. Sunny until nearly 8:30, light out until 9, which is past two kids’ bedtimes. But I want to be out too, and I conveniently seem to lose track of bedtime. The swingset we bought for the yard is paying off in spades as the girls climb, swing and devise bizarre monkey-like crossings from one end of the rig to the other. For once we’re getting a head start on our yard work. And the sunsets have been incredible – did you see the partial solar eclipse right before sunset this weekend?

Homework? Oh. Yeah.

Bedtime? Wow is it 8:30 already!? They all need baths, or at least a deep scrubbing of the bottoms of their feet.

Student council every Tuesday at 7:40 am? Still happening.

I’m hard pressed to decide which is more challenging: holding the schedule together at the end of the school year or getting them back on it at the start.

And just in case you missed it:

Partial solar eclipse over Lake Michigan

Gorgeous solar eclipse, sunset and looming thunderstorm all in one.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

