30 Minutes of Destruction

Here is what Annie accomplished last night in the time between when we got home and when dinner was just about ready to go.

1. Abandoned her sisters and the jungle gym to go dump out about 2.5 gallons of water from the dogs’ bucket onto the basement floor, followed by using the dog food scoop to add water to the bin of dog food. When I showed up to check on her she grinned at me and said, “Messy, messy!”

So I brought her upstairs to hang out with me. But I had to leave her for a few minutes to start the grill. Leading to

2. Dragging out her kitchen stool and started banging a spoon or something into the dishes that were in the sink. When I walked back into the kitchen she held out a piece of broken glass the size of a playing card and said, “Look!”

So I got her down, put away the stool, pointed to her little ride-on car and went to check on the potatoes on the stove. A few minutes later I hear

3. Insistent banging of some sort. Annie has climbed onto the counter stools and grabbed the coffee mug Chad left out, and she is banging it – upside down – on the counter with glee. Shards of ceramic are flying off and as her big sister shouts “No!” and pulls her off the stool Anne realizes she has blood on her hand.

So I take a weeping toddler over to the sink, drag out the aforementioned stool, wash her hand, put on a Band-Aid (which she is delighted about), take a deep breath, tell the big girls to start setting the table and start counting the minutes until bed time.

Lord help me.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in dinner time, family, Uncategorized, Working moms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Minutes of Destruction

  1. Chuck West says:

    ‘Bout time to start planning for the next one, don’t you think, Sweetie? I love your patience and genuine acceptance of your girls. I envy them the opportunity you give them to explore and be themselves … but even more, I appreciate how difficult it can be at times. And I love you for never giving up!

Leave a Reply

