The workings of an over-full mind.

I said a sad farewell to my favorite jeans today. Thanks a lot J. Crew design team for pointing out to me that my thighs rub together when I walk.

It’s a fitting end to a week with several small rants going on in my head. It’s nothing that’s worth an entire post, but since I can’t be the ONLY person thinking these things I’ll just throw them all here together and clean out my mental closet. The first is not so much a rant as an epiphany. An epiphany of stupidity on my part. It’s this: nighttime skin care makes a difference. Yeah, I know. Duh. But I have spent a lifetime being epically lazy about it and one night last week I just decided to do it for pete’s sake. A little wash, a little eye cream, nice moisturizer… I swear to god, seven days later my skin is much better. And even after the first day I was much less frightening when I woke up in the morning.

If my Mary Kay friend is reading this she is surely laughing out loud. I haven’t even pretended to take care of my skin at night and though I’ve purchased countless products I love from her, I don’t think I’ve ever once gone for one that was specifically designated as a nighttime skin treatment. But now, my friend, I’ve turned the corner because after my grey hair crisis I guess I realized that I’d better start taking care of my face or I’m going to have a crisis about that too.

With apologies to Mary Kay I started this nighttime skin care regime with a night moisturizer by Salma Hayak that I bought at CVS during a business trip. The reason I bought it is because I really can’t tell the difference between one kind of skin product and another. Plus, my husband thinks Salma Hayak is super hot and she is, so maybe she knows what she’s doing. But here’s the weird part – the directions say that you should apply the moisturizer to your face in an upward motion. I suppose this is so that you push your wrinkles upward instead of pulling your skin down, but I can’t stop thinking that it’s kind of treating your face like it’s shark skin. Like, put it on in upward motions so you don’t cut your hand open on the un-exfoliated desert that is your face. Thankfully the small sample of Mary Kay night restore lotion (probably not it’s actual name) does not require such precision in application and it smells less strong, so two points to Mary Kay on that one.

This past week was also my personal worst in terms of party planning/management. We were having a family birthday party for the two oldest girls, whose birthdays are ten days apart. (They hate the shared party, but I say too bad, so sad to that business.) So first off, I totally left a whole segment of the family off my planning list, which means I also didn’t count them in when setting the table. Really, there are few things more embarrassing than being in the middle of serving dinner and having your aunt sidle up and ask for plates and silverware for herself and her family. Second, sometime before the guests arrived my 2 yo wild woman turned off one of the crock pots. I discovered this about 15 minutes before family started showing up. If it had been taco meat I could have thrown it in a pan and browned it right up. But nothing says poison like a pork roast that’s bright pink inside.

One call to Pizza Hut and all was well. We served a smorgasbord of homemade macaroni & cheese (a huge hit), one small dish of barbecue pork (because I guess Annie couldn’t figure out how to turn that crock pot off), salad and pizza. The pizza was so popular it made me wonder why I have been cooking all these years.

A couple other random thoughts from this week:

• The Turbie Twist is awesome. It actually makes it so that Grace’s hair is almost dry by the time we leave for school, which is nice in the sort-of-winter weather. Also, when I wear the pink one while I’m putting on makeup I kind of feel like Elizabeth Taylor during her turban phase.

• Aquatanica Spa body gel and body wash is so good-smelling and so soft on your skin that I cannot believe I have to buy it on eBay. WTF Bath & Body Works? Remember that girl who started an online petition to get a big bank to drop their ATM fees? Whatever she did is what I want to do to get Bath & Body Works to bring back Aquatanica Spa.

• Grace likes to lie on the bathroom floor while I take a shower in the morning. The floor is heated, so that’s nice, but otherwise she’s lying on a hard tile floor, which would absolutely kill me but doesn’t seem to bother her a bit. When I get out of the shower she gets in and we have a nice little morning routine together. It’s kind of sweet (which she would be embarrassed to hear me say, much less tell you about), and also allows me to snap pictures of her like this:

Beautiful girl sleeping

Beautiful, no?

• Why is it that the day you most need the baby to take a decent nap because you’re dragging her to a Super Bowl party in Illinois does she sleep only one hour then wake up bawling? This does not bode well. Good thing I don’t give a fig who wins because I will probably be wrestling an exhausted child off my head starting at around kick-off.

Now, if I could just figure out which jeans to wear to the party…

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in family, Seasons, Take care of yoruself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The workings of an over-full mind.

  1. Linda says:

    Always love reading your posts — rants or not! Sometimes, my main thought is the old cliche: Been there, done that, don’t want to do it again.

  2. Cathy says:

    Random comments to your blog:
    1) i also love the turbie twist 2) sounds like i should consider a skin care routine 3) Benjamin also LOVES laying on the bathroom floor (right after his bathtime) 4) i think pizza is the key to world peace 🙂

Leave a Reply

