I have no clothes.

Don’t be concerned. (Or excited, if that’s your thing.) This isn’t a post about the joy of nudism or a spiritual journey that involves shedding one’s possessions. It’s about the fact that I am sick, sick, sick of my wardrobe and I bet you are too.

At least twice a year I have this feeling. I stand in the closet, flipping through the hangers (organized by color of clothing, by the way) and I can’t find anything to wear. This top is too clingy. That one has armpit marks. I love that shirt but it’s long sleeved and even though it’s 55 degrees now it will be 83 in a few hours. Forget this, I think. I move over to the pants/skirts section. Do I feel like wearing a skirt? Will I be too stuffy in capris? Aren’t I too short to wear capris anyway unless I’m wearing heels, which I don’t feel like wearing today?

And forget the shorts. I’ve got probably three pairs I’d wear to the office. One pair I love, but they always feel like they’re falling down after a couple hours of wear. The other pair is missing a button. Sure, I could sew it on. But I could also just use a belt to hold that little flap down while also accessorizing my outfit. Go that route though, and the shirt choice gets trickier.

Also, I’m a little sick of doing my toenails. So flip flops are out until I have the time, which probably won’t be until the weekend.

I can always tell when the next season is right around the corner because I’m sick of the wardrobe from the last one.

On Sunday we went with friends and children to the Lincoln Park Zoo. Gorgeous day. Lots of strangely dressed people. And some really smartly dressed people too. As always, when I get into the city I realize that I have really got to stop shopping at the outlet mall. I’d like to have more prints in my life. A couple cute new belts and maybe one of those long boyfriend cardigans. I was waiting to see if those boyfriend cardigans were just a flash-in-the-pan trend or something that might look good and stick around, so I didn’t get one last year. This year they seem to still be here so I’m going to start looking. I felt the same way about bootcut jeans 10 years ago or so. Now they’re my fave and let’s face it – they’re a good friend for the adult woman. Skinny jeans are for kids.

Thank god I have a job in an actual office. It’s a very casual office. In fact, I could probably come in wearing my pajama pants and a t-shirt and suffer only mild ridicule. But going to work keeps me on the fashion straight and narrow, instead of in the same shorts, t-shirt and flip flops I wear all weekend. Work is an excuse to get some new clothes. Here are a few things I’m thinking I might like this fall:

– slightly stretchy dark jeans that are a better brand than Old Navy (my usual choice)

– a cashmere turtleneck from J. Crew in a juicy color, maybe purple (they’re the best and not super expensive)

– a boyfriend cardigan also in a juicy color, some kind of blue or maybe a raspberry color

– loafer-style heels (these were big in the early 90s and I loved them then, love them now)

– new tall black boots with heels

– tall brown boots that are flats

– a cool color pencil skirt (I LOVE pencil skirts, they look great on nearly everyone and can be dressy or casual)

– a couple of patterned shirts to layer with other stuff

– a black belt, but not a boring one (I’m not sure what this means, but I’ll know it when I see it)

– a couple pairs of cute earrings (I’m partial to big hoops and I have so many lost earrings that I could outfit a pirate ship with the spares)

I’m thinking I’d also better start purging some stuff that I don’t wear. Even for me, a person who dearly loves to get rid of stuff, getting rid of clothes is hard. There’s that one outfit you just might need that stretchy top under. The classic white shirt that looks good but isn’t that comfortable in reality. It seems like money wasted to send it out the door only to be replaced by more clothes. But then again, we all make shopping mistakes and my no-longer-worn snakeskin print camisole (yes, I know) might be the find of a lifetime to someone else.

So off to the consignment shop most of it will go. And I will stick to my list, reminding myself not to fall into the trap of appealing yet totally-weird-for-me trends, including but not limited to the Mad Men dress phenomena, skinny jeans, drapey cardigans that come down to your knees, sweaters with oversize cowl necks, plaid flannel shirts and headbands.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in cleaning house, Fashion, Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I have no clothes.

  1. Pingback: Spend out. Or, buy the pens you like. | workingmomslunch

Leave a Reply

