Dry shampoo and other modern marvels.

When I was a kid my mom would get migraine headaches from smells. Things like a woman sitting nearby in a restaurant wearing perfume, smoke, our hippie neighbors’ incense, and too-strong-smelling laundry detergent were the enemy. As a result our laundry smelled like nothing. Not nothing exactly, just clean and plain, and kind of like dryer sheets. I longed for that sweet, fresh smelling laundry I whiffed whenever I was at a friend’s house. But it was a total mystery to me how they got it that way.

A few years ago I discovered fabric softener. Lavender vanilla fabric softener, to be exact, and my laundry life was revolutionized. Now my laundry smells like peace and harmony. My clean sheets make me want to burrow my head underneath. And when Anne was in the hospital all the nurses raved about how good her laundry smelled when they opened her drawer to get out fresh onesies and blankets. Fabric softener is not exactly a modern marvel. It’s been around for quite a while. But for me it was life changing. I know that sounds dramatic, but seriously, I still cannot get over how much I love the smell of my own clean laundry.

Taking this leap into the world of fabric softener has made me more willing to try other things heretofore associated with people who are somehow not like me. Take dry shampoo for example.

I read about this mysterious potion all the time in magazines like InStyle and Marie Claire. I think they’ve even mentioned it in O and Good Housekeeping. And I’m sure I saw it featured in an episode of Laverne & Shirley once. But it never occurred to me to try it because it seemed like something only Kate Hudson and Jennifer Aniston would do. But as I get a little older weird things are happening. One of them is that my hair is not the oil slick it was so easily able to become circa 1987. In fact, I don’t even need to wash it every day. Not washing your hair means minimal styling to refresh it, which is awesome when you stay at the beach too long toasting marshmallows, and then get up late the next morning. And guess what else? They sell this stuff at Meijer.

So I bought some.

And I tried it.

And I used it today.

And I’m totally digging it. Because even though the rest of my hair looks fine when I skip a day of washing it, there’s this little section in the front that can get very Professor Snape-like if I’m not careful. But so far today? No Snape. And I cut, like, 20 minutes out of my getting ready time.

Another small revolution in my life.

I’m not sure what fascinating modern marvel I will try next. But I do know that little things can make a big difference so I’m keeping my options open.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dry shampoo and other modern marvels.

  1. Hannah says:

    You have inspired me to try this dry shampoo. I’ve heard about it for a long time as well, but I guess I just don’t get it. Is it powder? Is it foam? You made me laugh with the small “Professor Snape-like piece of hair in the front” hahaaaa…so true. And, as a stay-at-home-mom, I wash my hair even less…

    I’m going to try this and report back.

    P.S. I totally get the fabric softener too. Other things I like along these lines that have made a much bigger impact that I ever thought could…

    1. Naked Urban Decay eye shadow case. I didn’t really even use eye shadow all that much, but my sister bought it for me, and I love love the “regular” colors, and smooth smooth brush.

    2. Dove body wash. I never used to like any body wash that had even a hint of oil in it- so I just stuck with things like Zest soap that left your skin so rubbery-clean. Now, I love pretty much anything Dove. Whenever I use it, Jonathan always asks, “What smells so fresh and clean?” ; )

    3. Waverly fabric drawer organizers. I usually find them at TJMaxx or Marshalls. They make alllllllll of my drawers in every bathroom, junk drawer in the kitchen, office desk drawers, and even car console look extra cute, and really help to keep clutter under control. They also have pretty fabric boxes w/ lids that I use for storage boxes in hallway closets (light bulbs) and kids closets (grown-out-of sizes).

    • The dry shampoo I bought is actually a spray. I bought the smallest bottle in case I hated it hahaha! I can’t remember what it’s called. But basically you spray it on wherever you think you need it. For me it’s along my part and my bangs area. Let it sit for a couple minutes and then brush your hair. The stuff I bought goes on invisible, which is nice. And then after I brushed my hair it just looks totally like a fresh wash. I used it at about 7:30 this morning and it’s 2:00 now and it’s still holding up!

      And thanks for the tip about the Waverly drawer liners. Those sound awesome and I’m going to scope that out asap!

Leave a Reply

