I am bossypants.

You know that game where you pick the six people throughout history you would invite to dinner and everyone picks Jesus because, you know, he’s Jesus, and then also Ghandi and maybe George Lucas? That’s a dumb game, but if I had to make a list Tina Fey would be first.

Here’s why: She is smart, funny and willing to publish a book that features a photo of herself with freaky man arms.

Tina Fey is hilarious!I read a review of Bossypants several months ago. (Which actually makes it a preview, not a review, but whatever.) As usual I decided that I had to read it because Tina Fey is the funniest and smartest woman in entertainment. Also as usual, shortly after making that commitment I forgot all about it, until my friend Corie read the book and said that I should read it because it reminded her of me.

Me? Bossypants?

Heck yeah! My sister will totally agree.

You might be thinking this book is just another celebrity memoir from someone who is not even old enough to have enough material for an entire memoir. The only other celebrity memoir I’ve read was Katherine Hepburn’s book, “Kate,” so I couldn’t say if Tina Fey has enough life material or not. But what I can tell you is that this is a book worth reading. You will laugh. You will cry (but with laughter), and you will realize that even women who get to be on the cover of InStyle magazine are racked with self-doubt, over-committed and struggling to find balance. For me, this book was also a reminder that it’s okay to be a woman who likes to be funny, finds weird things funny and sometimes makes inappropriate jokes, even if it’s only in her own head. Tina Fey makes me realize I am not alone in being totally comfortable running the show in a work setting, but I cannot possibly bring myself to tell my cleaning lady that I really need her to give the baseboards in the bathroom a wipe down.

On a side note, I’m still in my hotel in Cincinnati. The baby still has an ear infection and cries like mad when Chad puts her to bed. That whole scene still just sucks. And the people in the room next to me are talking really loud. It’s one of those rooms that could be adjoining, so there’s an extra door that opens to reveal another door that opens to their room. I know both sides of the door are locked, but it’s still a little weird that they are right. over. there. Talking. And I can hear them.

On a second side note, the grammar geek in me is totally loving this video about ending a sentence with a preposition that was sent to me by one of my business partners. I mean, who doesn’t LOVE a site with videos from slightly nerdy people in black turtlenecks making proclamations about the dos and don’ts of modern grammar? They are like the bossypants of Merriam-Webster.

What about my list of six, you say? I haven’t given it much thought, but off the top of my head I think I’d go with Tina Fey, Oprah, Steven Spielberg (although I feel like he might want to dominate the conversation for some reason), Will Ferrell, Michelle Obama and J.K. Rowling. And even though it’s only supposed to be six people I’d add one more and invite my sister because I couldn’t hang out with all these people without her there, and also so we could talk about it later. Hopefully she won’t think I’m too bossy by insisting that she come.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am bossypants.

  1. Linda Marker says:

    Always love reading your blogs. The video is one I agree “with.”

Leave a Reply

