Where to begin?

Last Saturday it took me more than four hours to clean about six blinds, top to bottom, plus the windows behind them. Only 9 more to go.

I think I might have a “problem” with wedge heels.

Does anyone know how to tilt a house on its side and just shake the crap out into the yard so I can bag and toss it?

I’d better get serious about improving the quality of my heels before sandal season. I say this every year, but NO MORE HOOVES for me!

Someday I’d like Chad to hang up the drying rack I bought for the laundry room, but a couple more years in the box probably won’t hurt anyone.

Will it ever stop raining?

I’m going to begin implementing an aromatherapy program in my office. Just saying.

I already have work on my calendar scheduled for July.

What’s the deal with that Allegra commercial where they talk about how you can’t take it with orange juice? Is this a big problem?

It really takes more time than I have to maintain the detailed level of personal grooming I’d prefer. (And I’m referring to things like having my nails painted and eyebrows waxed, not general levels of cleanliness so stop thinking something gross.)

Last week I was on a flight where I had the aisle seat, an older guy with a neck pillow had the window and between us was – I kid you not – a Tibetan monk. When we landed I got up and as I was grabbing my bag Neck Pillow jumped up (without removing his neck pillow), climbed over the monk quite roughly and just about pulled his bag onto my head out of the overhead bin before sprinting ahead and cutting off the people trying to exit in the rows before us. Me and the monk exchanged a look. Now, if you’re a nervous flier that’s cool. But if your behavior is so outrageous that I was able to exchange The Look with a monk you might need some therapy, because that’s bad karma.

The plant on my desk at work is getting really big and I don’t know what to do with it.

I recently discovered that when you do boring things like filling in the calendar and completing kindergarten paperwork while sitting on the couch and watching TV, you can fool yourself into thinking you’re relaxing instead of doing a chore.

I love my Kindle.

I love Tina Fey.

When it’s “sneak a peek” day at dance I get so choked up watching those beautiful girls.

Yesterday Brendan sat and watched all of “Tangled” with Lauren, but don’t tell him I told you.

I didn’t really notice my problem with wedge heels until I invested $12 in an over-the-door shoe hanger.

I’m going to need at least one more over-the-door shoe hanger, but I don’t really have another door to hang it on.

Style experts always say to find your own style and stick with it. I feel like I’m finding mine. I also feel like I’m wearing the same thing every day.

My other recent discovery is rubber gloves for washing dishes. I think I want to wear them from the time I walk in the door until I go to bed lest my hands turn into small hooves too.

When I look at other people’s holiday pictures I always think A) what a cute family! and B) I should really make a little more effort to make things special on important days and C) but who has the time for that?

If you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all is something worth remembering.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where to begin?

  1. Corie says:

    a. good post.
    b. use pumice stone daily in the shower, it helps.
    c. I’m impressed that you haven’t killed your plant.
    d. I have a nook, that I also love.
    e. Tina Fey is my secret, best, imaginary friend.

  2. Katie says:

    Holy crap, I can’t stop laughing! I love, love, love “bad karma!” And for that matter, you too (the love thing, not the bad Karma thing).

Leave a Reply

