The most talented guy in the room.

Get me and my brother and sister together and you’ll notice some similarities. We’re all pretty talkative. Our political and religious beliefs are generally along the same lines. We can discuss endlessly the weirdness of our various parental units, and reminisce forever about family vacations that involved one or more of us getting a serious sunburn in the days before sunscreen awareness.

You’ll also notice one other thing if you hang around and listen for a while. Our brother is the most talented guy in the room. I mean, I’m a writer and good enough at it to make a living. My sister is a gifted teacher, capable of creating a bond with students that others might dismiss as ne’er-do-wells or misfits. And she can cook a mean tollhouse cookie, among other delicious baked goods. But our brother? That dude got it all in the talent department.

At 5 he wanted to take piano lessons, but that got boring after a while. At 9 he started playing the drums. By junior high he was writing his own music and he had his first band in something like ninth grade. He was playing in local coffee houses somewhere shortly after that, and by the time he was halfway through college he had taught himself guitar and probably even had a few actual groupies. Three years ago he moved to LA so he could be better positioned to pursue his music career.

It’s easy to say that everyone in LA wants to be a musician, or an actor, or a writer, or a director. Everyone has a screenplay they’re working on. But John is the real deal. Substitute teacher by day, driven and gifted musician by night, he has pursued his musical career with a single-minded focus and commitment that belies his California-cool, easygoing and funny personality. Right now, John is starting to get some serious attention for his music. From the outside, it kind of seems like it’s happened overnight. But the truth is, it’s been a long time coming and he has made it happen on his own. He’s made it happen because on any given night, in any given venue, he’s the most talented guy in the room. And talent speaks for itself.

He’s also one of the nicest guys in the room. And that never hurts either.

His new band and eponymous EP are called Caliana. You can download the EP for free right here. If I were you, I’d get it now so that you can say “Caliana? Dude, I was already listening to them right before they hit it really big.”

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The most talented guy in the room.

  1. So, I just downloaded John’s song . . . I must say, wow, but I am having problems reconciling this amazing voice with that sweet little (small) boy I remember bugging us when we were having gossiping and sunning ourselves on the beach!

    Really, impressive!

Leave a Reply

