Speed kills.

Speed kills.

I know this because I gave myself a black eye at Curves yesterday while I was rushing to put the little cushion on the seat of the leg machine. I’m short. I need the back cushion so that my legs are properly positioned for the up/down, thighs/hammies resistance action. I bent down fast – the music was kind of spazzing me out – and wham! hit my eye on the edge of the backrest. I knew it was going to be a shiner and sure enough, this morning I had a lovely purple swipe in the crease of my eyelid. Lucky for me, I have some purple eyeshadow almost the exact same shade and not even my family has noticed yet.

I gave myself a black eye one other time that I was in a hurry. In that case I was rushing to get from my Grandma’s house to my cousin’s graduation party, where I was supposed to be bringing some kind of food or something like that. I had my Grandma tucked safely into the back seat and swung around to jump into my seat, but pulled the car door a little too quickly. I wound up smashing my sunglasses into the bridge of my nose so hard that I thought I broke my cheekbone. I actually started to cry it hurt so bad, and had such a big black eye that it took two weeks to fade to a shade that didn’t cause people to take a second, somewhat embarrassed glance.

Apparently my personal mode of consequence for rushing around is giving myself a black eye. You’d think I’d learn. I’m working on trying to do one thing at a time, but perhaps I should also be working on doing each thing a little more slowly. If I did that I’d probably feel like each day was a little less The Amazing Race and a little more…. I don’t know what, but there’s got to be an example out there somewhere.

Speed kills.

That’s also one of our favorite sayings at the office. When we rush a job it’s a lot more likely to have small, but dumb, mistakes. A shiner in the crease, so to speak. Or to wind up taking ten times as long because the initial input wasn’t really thought through. I know many of my clients have pressures put upon them that I don’t know about and am probably grateful not to be experiencing personally. I know they can’t always help that they call us when the deadline is dangerously close.

And here’s the real secret of advertising: The pressure of a deadline is part of what drives creative people. Give us a tight deadline and we’ll be much more effective at recognizing, and moving forward on, the good idea.

But give us a reasonable deadline and you’ll not only get a good idea, you’ll be more likely to get a great idea. Take the time to move carefully around the car door, be seated and THEN pull the door shut. You’ll feel less pressured to get it proofed and approved, and we’ll have more time to polish your project to perfection. The thing is, we do stuff to your projects that you sometimes don’t notice, but your subconscious mind does. It’s the difference between saying, “that looks good,” and saying, “I LOVE that!” You don’t know why you feel that way, but you do.

We’re needy creative people and we want you to say “I LOVE that” as often as possible. A rushed job will be good. But we know deep down inside that it could always be better. That’s why we ask for more time. Not because we want to put you off, but because we want to slow down. Focus. Do one thing at a time. We want you to arrive at the party unscathed, ready to roll and feeling good about things.

We’ll talk about the budget later.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Working moms and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

