Yes, that IS my red stapler.

I’m not a big believer in Valentine’s Day. Well, let me rephrase that. I think we should take Valentine’s Day with a big grain of salt. Hallmark made this up, people. And if it’s really important to you then either let your significant other know or be grown-up enough not to be mad if they don’t perform up to your standards.

My standards are pretty low. I like a card. A hug. And some office supplies.

I’ve never actually received office supplies. Chad likes to give me plants, most of which I’ve killed. He also likes to give me the candy he gets at the office, which is fine by me because it’s usually pretty good stuff. I’m just not in need of a fancy dinner or expensive jewelry or a big vase of roses on V-Day. And apparently lots of other people aren’t either. In fact, I read this morning that more people are focusing on giving Valentine’s gifts to their children and work friends than ever before. Some are even giving office supplies.

“Valentine’s Day isn’t a holiday that you typically think about office supplies, but we are seeing customers being a little more creative this year in what they are giving for the occasion,” said Jason Shockley, spokesman for Office Depot.

I almost laughed out loud when I read this quote over my pre-dawn tooth brushing session. But then I felt a little glow, because I would LOVE to receive office supplies. For any occasion. For me, there are few things more tantalizing than a perfect, untouched notebook, a pretty stapler, file folders with cute patterns or a brand new package of fine-point Sharpies in all colors. I like little boxes for organizing, calendars, tape dispensers, multi-colored or oddly shaped paper clips, decorative pushpins and magnets, and pads of post-its with jokes on them. All of these things are rife with possibility for articles to be written, files to be organized and important papers to clip together in an aesthetically pleasing way.

So Chad, if you’re reading, I really do love jewelry. But give me a pink-and-green paisley file folder set and I’ll be over the moon.

About workingmomslunch

I'm a full-time working mom of three girls. For reasons unknown to me some people think I make this all look easy. In reality, I have no idea what I'm doing. Every day I'm trying to figure out how to get everyone where they need to go on time, what to wear to work that doesn't require ironing, when I'm going to get the dust bunnies out from under the hall table, what we're going to have for dinner and what I might do if I actually had 20 minutes all to myself. Follow along with me as I navigate the oft-charted, but never mastered, waters of working motherhood.
This entry was posted in Gift giving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, that IS my red stapler.

  1. Uncle Chuck says:

    Your brain droppings fertilize all sorts of ideas in my garden of ideas. I love you and those gorgeous girls you talk/think about …

  2. Linda Marker says:

    Remind me to turn on the security camera. You’ve been peeking into my office!

Leave a Reply

